LITTLE ROCK – Biologists and staff with the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission offered the first reading of recommendations for the 2018-19 hunting season to commissioners at last week’s scheduled meeting,

Included was the addition of neighboring counties to the already established Cronic Wasting Disease Zone.

With additional positive cases of chronic wasting disease discovered during the 2017-18 deer season, biologists with the Research, Evaluation and Compliance Division recommended the following modifications to deer hunting regulations:

• The addition of Benton, Washington, Crawford, Franklin and Sebastian counties to the CWD Management Zone.

• The creation of a two-tiered carcass movement restriction, where deer from Tier 1 (Boone, Carroll, Madison and Newton counties) would not be allowed outside of the outer border of that tier, and deer from Tier 2 (Benton, Crawford, Franklin, Johnson, Logan, Pope, Searcy, Marion, Sebastian, Yell, Washington and Van Buren counties) not be allowed outside the outer border of the entire CWD Management Zone.

• The removal of antler restrictions on bucks within WMAs lying in the CWD Management Zone.

• The removal of the Three-point Rule in all counties within the CWD Management Zone.