Morgan accepted into UCA Honors College

The Norbert O. Schedler Honors College at the University of Central Arkansas is pleased to announce that Lydia Morgan has been accepted as a member of the incoming Fall 2018 class of Honors Scholars.

This highly selective award is made to 75 graduating high school students from Arkansas and elsewhere. Members of the incoming class are selected using the most thorough honors admissions process in the nation. This year had one of the largest applicant pools in the history of the Schedler Honors College with 835 prospects, of whom 176 underwent full-day interviews on the UCA campus.

The daughter of Joe and Leah Morgan, Lydia is a graduate of Greenbrier High School, achieving a GPA of 4.1053 and earning the Highest Honors GPA of over 4.1, the Panther Pride award, Spanish II award, President’s Education award. She is a member of FCA, President-Spanish Club, Beta Club, Mathletes, band, Purposed, and was an Arkansas Girls State Delegate, a four-year letterman in Cross Country and in Track and Field.

In addition to the Schedler Honors College Scholarship, Lydia has received the Arkansas Challenge Scholarship and the UCA Achievement Scholarship.

Acceptance into the Schedler Honors College comes with UCA’s most prestigious scholarship package worth over $60,000 over four years, access to a living-learning community in Jefferson W. Farris Honors Hall, and participation in a unique interdisciplinary curriculum with ample opportunities for service learning, project-based education, collaborative work, undergraduate research, and travel or internship support.

Founded in 1982 by Dr. Norbert O. Schedler, under President Jefferson Farris, the UCA Honors College has graduated more than 1,700 students. Recognized nationwide as a model for its student-centered curriculum, the Honors College seeks to develop high-ability students’ capacities for significant scholarship, citizenship, and leadership.

Padgett earns agricultural scholarship

Tina Padgett was recently presented with a scholarship from the Arkansas Agriculture Department at the State Capitol.

Padgett, a junior Agricultural Education major from Damascus, was one of four SAU students presented with the scholarships by Governor Asa Hutchinson and Arkansas Agriculture Secretary Wes Ward in April.

"Agriculture is Arkansas's largest industry and we are delighted that each of you has chosen an agriculture focus for your future. We hope that each of you will stay in Arkansas and continue contributing to our state's agriculture industry as you build your careers and families," said Governor Hutchinson to scholarship recipients.

Funding for the annual scholarships comes from civil penalties collected by the Arkansas Agriculture Department's State Plant Board. The AAD is dedicated to the development and implementation of policies and programs for Arkansas agriculture and forestry to keep its farmers and ranchers competitive in national and international markets while ensuring safe food, fiber, and forest products for the citizens of the state and nation.

McNeel inducted into SAU honor society

Taylor Jean McNeel was recently inducted into Southern Arkansas University's Alpha Chi National Honor Society.

McNeel, from Vilonia, is a recent graduate with a degree in Agriculture Business.

Induction into Alpha Chi is a distinction that recognizes the top 10 percent of juniors, seniors and graduate students. This year there were 44 inductees into SAU's chapter, Theta Chapter - Chapter 44. The faculty advisor is Dr. Antoinette Odendaal. Assisting with the ceremony was Dr. Pablo Bacon, Zeta Chapter Alpha Chi member, and Jada Fricks, a 2017 inductee.

Find out more about Alpha Chi at