NUMA award winners named

Several University of Arkansas at Fort Smith students, faculty, alumni and student organizations were recently awarded for their contributions during the 15th annual NUMA awards ceremony. Area winners include Daniel Ramirez of Barling, student life appreciation; Holley Maness of Booneville, student leader of the year; Whitney Hobbs of Charleston, Greek woman of the year; Ryan Green of Fort Smith, non-traditional student leader of the year; Tim McClure of Fort Smith, chapter adviser of the year; Jasmine Smith of Greenwood, adviser of the year; Amy Tan of Hackett, sorority new member of the year; Trevor England of Muldrow, chapter president of the year; and Joshua Simonds of Sallisaw, chancellor’s spirit award.

Student organizations winning awards were Student Veterans Organization, organization of the year; American Legion Post 31, community supporter of the year; Residence Hall Association, new student organization of the year; and Rotaract, community service organization of the year and legacy maker award. The Campus Activities Board, Rotaract and Spanish Club each won Star of Excellence awards.

County Line yearbook honored

Jostens, the leading producer of yearbooks and student-created content, recently named the yearbook program at County Line School Districtin Branch a 2018 Jostens’ national yearbook program of excellence. The County Line yearbook program is under the direction of Celia Looney.


Names of note

East Central University will hold its commencement at 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. Saturday in the Kerr Activities Center on the campus in Ada, Okla. Area graduates include Haley Poindexter of Cameron, Raegan Thomas of Howe, Waymon Potts of Roland, Keegan Buckaloo of Sallisaw, Carly Blemmel of Talihina and Brent Hill and Angela Norbury, both of Wister.


Several area students were recently presented academic excellence awards by the University of Arkansas at Fort Smith including Kailey Anderson, Nichole Dapson, Rebekkah Hodges, Zachery Teague and Molly Tennison, all of Alma; Serena Her of Altus; Mary Fimpel of Arkoma; Hannah Hayes, Constance Helton, Christian Taggart and Levi Young, all of Charleston; Layton Pruett of Clarksville; Christa Super of Cove; Lissa Brooks, Heather Cotner, Thalita Da Silva, Chasse Daniels, Brittany Fox, Bailey Hanf, Angie Castillo, Dylon Scheele-Martinez, Michelle Schmitz, Julia Sexton, Noah Spear, Deanna Thompson, Courtney Yandell and Viktoria Yilmaz, all of Fort Smith; Damon Lee and Vincent Scott, both of Greenwood; Crystal Seratt of Huntington; Brandon Newton of Natural Dam; Marlleneh Zamorano of Ozark; Brandon Dyer of Roland; and Melinda Colvin, Rhett Kelley, Jessica Medeiros, Racheal Simpson and Maria Valente, all of Van Buren.


Several area students were recently inducted into The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi including Narisse Darbeau of Fort Smith, University of Tulsa and Tina Sorensen of Alma, Arkansas State University.


Dominique Palucis of Ratcliff won first-place honors in the recent Fourth District Congressional Art Competition. The County Line Public Schools student created a painting titled “Amalgam.”


Jacob Veach was presented the Arkansas Tech University-Ozark campus spirit award during the recent ATU-Ozark commencement ceremonies. Brenda Huntsinger, workforce education instructor in health information technology, and Tammy Verkamp, the workforce education instructor in English, were named 2018 faculty award of excellence recipients, and Linda Clifton, associate director of advising and retention, was named the staff senate professional excellence award recipient.



Olivia Davis of Fort Smith was awarded the Noble Foundation scholarship by the Oklahoma State University College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources.


Alice Anders of Fort Smith and Sydney Furney of Van Buren have each received a Midwest Achievement Award, a Residence Life Leadership Award and a visual and performing arts scholarship from Southeast Missouri State University in Cape Girardeau, Mo. Anders is the daughter of Rick and Mary Llew Anders of Fort Smith and will be a 2018 graduate of Southside High School. Furney is the daughter of Bill Furney of Fort Smith and Carol Furney of Van Buren and will be a 2018 graduate of Van Buren High School.

Education News is published each Friday as a public service. All items must reach the Times Record, 3600 Wheeler Ave., by noon Tuesday prior to the Friday the item is to be published. Information may be edited for length and content. Photographs submitted cannot be returned but may be picked up at the main office the week after they are published. Photographs will be kept for six months. The name and phone number of a contact person must accompany each item submitted, or it will not be published. Email submissions to