Send in summer activities

It’s time to submit information on summer activities your organization might be hosting for children this year. We will be including listings of summer camps, outdoor activities, indoor activities and church-related activities open to the public in a Summer Fun special section to be published in May.

We need to know the name and address of the sponsoring organization; the activity being hosted; the time(s), date(s) and location of the activity; the age range the activity is geared for; cost; registration deadline (if any); and the name and phone number of someone people can contact for more information.

There will be no charge to list these events, but we do need to receive the information by May 10. Submit information to Times Record, P.O. Box 1359, Fort Smith, AR 72902-1359, Attention: Summer Ania, or by email to For questions, call Summer Ania at (479) 785-7700, ext. 1371.

School Choice deadline approaching

Applications are now being accepted for students wishing to participate in the School Choice program, which allows parents to apply for their child’s admission to participating school districts other than the one in which they reside. The deadline to apply is Tuesday. Parents may indicate a school preference, however, assignments will be made on the basis of space availability and program availability. Applicants will be notified of their acceptance or rejection by July 1.

Application forms are available at the Office of the Executive Director of Student Services, Fort Smith Public Schools, 3205 Jenny Lind Road in Fort Smith.

Register for tribe's college prep institute

The Cherokee Nation Foundation is accepting applications through June 1 for the seventh annual Cherokee College Prep Institute to be held July 15-20 at Northeastern State University in Tahlequah. The weeklong camp connects students with admissions counselors from across the U.S. to analyze, prepare and complete college applications, identify scholarship opportunities and explore schools of interest. The Cherokee College Prep Institute is offered at no cost to Cherokee Nation citizens preparing for their junior and senior year of high school. All lodging, meals and testing expenses are provided.

Visit to apply or for information. Contact Jennifer Sandoval at or call Cherokee Nation Foundation at (918) 207-0950 for information.

Student welders need your help

Kris Harkey of Paris, Tiffany Orff of Booneville and Serena Vanderford of Clarksville, all welding fabrication students at Arkansas Tech University-Ozark, recently won gold medals in the 2018 Arkansas SkillsUSA Championships. Those gold medals qualify these young women to compete June 25-29 at the national competition in Kentucky, but they need to raise $5,000 for the trip and expenses, said Orff.

Between competition and practice drills, the three have fabricated three hibachi grills they plan to sell or auction to help raise some of the money they need, Orff said. Contact Orff at for information or to help.


Names of note

Asher Ellis recently won the geographic bee at Immaculate Conception School in Fort Smith, then placed fifth in the state competition.


Kevin Torkelson recently received the S.T.E.M. award for outstanding student 2017-18 in the computer and information sciences-security division at the University of Arkansas at Fort Smith.


Darby Fowler, Gloria Evans, Curtsie Pace and Jada Hunt were recently named first, second, third and honorable mention winners in the Carl Albert State College poetry contest.


The University of Arkansas at Fort Smith recently recognized several area students in the 11th annual Student Research Symposium including Chris Mizell of Barling; Markus Althoff, Priscilla Devora, Golden Mulkey, Natalie Nguyen, Lisset Ramirez Perez, Johnny Resendiz, Debbie Robertson, Brenda Rosales, Vincent Scott, Mark Spradlin, Lynnette Thrower, Tiffany Tucker, Susan Whiteneck and Rachel Wingfield, all of Fort Smith; Courtne Climer and Kali Patterson, both of Greenwood; Casey Newman and Hannah Stevens, both of Lavaca; Michael Edgar of Muldrow; Ana Cruz, Cesar Cuevas, Markie Dean, Zane Harrison and Haley Nelson, all of Van Buren; and Megan Bottoms, Kayla Horn and McKenna Root, all of Waldron.


Ebony Wyatt of Minnetonka, Minn., formerly of Fort Smith, was recently named a Silas Hunt honoree by the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville. This year's honorees will officially be recognized Nov. 9 during the fifth Silas Hunt Legacy Awards Celebration.


Jason Couch of Van Buren was recently inducted into The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi from Arkansas State University.


Zach Smith of Fort Smith and Eric Sutherland of Mena, both students at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock, were named winners in the recent Calculus Bowl held on the UALR campus. Smith won third place, and Sutherland took sixth. Each received a $20 cash prize.


Education News is published each Friday as a public service. All items must reach the Times Record, 3600 Wheeler Ave., by noon Tuesday prior to the Friday the item is to be published. Information may be edited for length and content. Photographs submitted cannot be returned but may be picked up at the main office the week after they are published. Photographs will be kept for six months. The name and phone number of a contact person must accompany each item submitted, or it will not be published. Email submissions to