County Line students soar

Several students from County Line Schools in Branch recently attended and placed highly in the 2018 Arkansas Science Olympiad competition held on the University of Arkansas at Little Rock campus, according to Sara Porterfield, the school's Science Olympiad coach and science teacher.

Porterfield said the school placed second overall in the junior high division and third overall in the high school division. The school has consistently placed in the top three in both divisions in the five years students have attended the annual competition, she added. The students will advance to the national competition May 18-19 at Colorado State University in Fort Collins, Colo.

Individual junior high students earning first-place scores were Nate Johnston, Brayden Stengel, Ben Newborn, Trent Johnston, Quinn Corp, Brooke Neumeier, Emily Huggins, Ethan Bennett, Gunner Valliquette, Alex Corp and Noah Gattis. Second-place winners include Gunner Valliquette, Alex Corp, Quinn Corp, Brooke Neumeier, Noah Gattis, Nate Johnston, Emily Huggins, Ben Newborn and Hallie Valliquette; and third-place scores went to Gunner Valliquette, Alex Corp, Braden Shotzman and Trent Johnston.

In the high-school division, first-place scores were awarded to Anthony Keith, Zach Rytting, Braden Bateman and Shawn Patterson; second-place scores went to Tori Porter, Braden Bateman, Claire Baptiste and Hannah Houston; and third-place awards went to Anthony Keith, Zach Rytting, Tori Porter, Shawn Patterson, Claire Baptiste, Hannah Houston, Kaitlyn Moffet and Shiloh Lechner.

Lavaca school recognized

The Arkansas Department of Education recently awarded Lavaca High School $11,012.40 in recognition of the school's high student performance and high student academic growth, which includes high school graduation rate comparisons, according to a recent news release from the school.

Lavaca High School ranked in the top 6 percent to 10 percent for graduation rate growth, and this is the second consecutive year for Lavaca to win the award, according to the release. The award comes as part of the Arkansas School Recognition Program.

Sign up for health boot camp

Arkansas undergraduate and graduate college students interested in learning the fundamentals of entrepreneurship and forming new health science ventures at a residential boot camp at the University of Central Arkansas in Conway have until May 7 to register. The camp is an intensive, weeklong program during which students identify problems or opportunities in health care, and then work in interdisciplinary student teams to formulate new venture ideas, talk to potential customers, meet with influential faculty and work closely with mentors from the health care industry. The boot camp coaches the teams through everything from entity filing and intellectual property to creating a sustainable entrepreneurial team.

The Health Sciences Entrepreneurship Boot Camp will be held May 20-25. It is a joint initiative of the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, Arkansas INBRE, BioVentures and The Conductor, a public-private partnership with UCA and Startup Junkie. Arkansas IMBRE (IDeA Networks of Biomedical Research Excellence) helps build research infrastructure across the state.

Visit for information or to sign up.

Hackett using flex time

Hackett High School is offering students in seventh through 12th grades the opportunity to use a flex time program meant to emphasize basic life skills and encourage good time management.

Through the program, all students are receiving lessons in answering job interview questions, writing formal letters, introducing oneself properly and more.

Additionally, students struggling in a specific class are given extra time with that instructor, allowing the students the chance to improve their grades. Students already earning passing grades in all of their classes are given the chance to work independently on class projects or receive tutoring or assistance in their own areas of interest.

Edward Ray, Hackett superintendent, said the program has excited students and has helped many of them improve their grades and stay caught up with assignments.


Names of note

Braden Bateman and Shae Parsons recently placed in competition at the Future Business Leaders of America State Leadership Conference in Little Rock. Parsons won first place during introduction to business communication, and Bateman placed fourth in business calculations. Both students will advance to the national competition in Baltimore, Md.


Hailey Canada of Ozark, Melissa Carmack of Charleston, Jaelyn Herrera of Fort Smith, Allison Holloway of Alma, Blake Hurley of Clarksville, Seth Mays of Mansfield, Collin Moore and Katie Tran, both of Greenwood, and Jillian Swain of Branch were among 40 students recently selected for inclusion in the 2018 edition of Who’s Who from Arkansas Tech University in Russellville.


Several area high school and college students recently won medals in the 2018 Arkansas SkillsUSA Championships.

University of Arkansas at Fort Smith winners include Charlee Bell of Fort Smith, gold in criminal justice; Elizabeth Chrisman of Fort Smith, gold in medical terminology; and Debbie Robertson of Fort Smith, gold in medical math.

Western Arkansas Technical Center at UAFS winners include Maggie Hudgens of Booneville, Waldron High School, gold in First Aid/CPR; Kevin Head of Van Buren, Van Buren High School, gold in preschool teaching assistant; Mason Day, Lori Gallup, Eric Parkhurst and Angelina Sher, all of Waldron, Waldron High School, gold in health knowledge bowl; Raymond Cabarcas of Fort Smith, Northside High School, silver in medical terminology; Maria Gutierrez-Sanchez of Fort Smith, Northside High School, silver in preschool teaching assistant; Emily Haga of Waldron, Waldron High School, silver in health occupations professional portfolio; Adrianna Slater of Waldron, Waldron High School, silver in basic health care skills; Joselina Roman of Fort Smith, Northside High School, bronze in preschool teaching assistant; and Elizabeth Soisouvanh of Waldron, Waldron High School, bronze in medical math. In addition to the medals, WATC gold medal winners receive a four-year $1,000 scholarship to attend UAFS.

Arkansas Tech University-Ozark Campus winners include Kris Harkey of Paris, gold in welding fabrication; Tiffany Orff of Booneville, gold in welding fabrication; Serena Vanderford of Clarksville, gold in welding fabrication; Beau Riggs of Ozark, gold in computer services; Marcus Watson of Clarksville, gold in technical computer applications; Nash Barnett of Alma, gold in HVAC; Brettaney Davenport of Clarksville, silver in technical computer services; Randy Gunter of Ozark, silver in automotive service technology; Moises Lopez of Fort Smith, silver in parts specialist; Joshua Kinnard of Fort Smith, silver in collision repair technology; Kaleb Freeman of Clarksville, bronze in information technology services; Juan Barrientos of Clarksville, bronze in HVAC; and Jeison Jeffery of Clarksville, bronze in parts specialist.

Education News is published each Friday as a public service. All items must reach the Times Record, 3600 Wheeler Ave., by noon Tuesday prior to the Friday the item is to be published. Information may be edited for length and content. Photographs submitted cannot be returned but may be picked up at the main office the week after they are published. Photographs will be kept for six months. The name and phone number of a contact person must accompany each item submitted, or it will not be published. Email submissions to